Surrounded in the thick of brain fog

A really interesting post about brain fog. I too have POTS and would count brain fog amongst my most debilitating and certainly frustrating symptoms. There are days I can barely add 2 and 2 without a calculator and this coming from a chartered accountant (in a former life). Thanks Sophia for the useful advice too.

Ps I posted this and realised I’d forgotten one of the main things of wanted to say. Living proof of fog!! What I hadn’t realised before was that brain fog is physiological, but I suppose it must be. Explains why on bad days I might struggle with a recipe as I cook when I’m standing up and often when I’m already tired!

Spoonie Sophia

Brain fog, otherwise known as cognitive impairment, is a very common symptom in many chronic illnesses, such as M.E/chronic fatigue syndrome, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS) and more. Forgetfulness, difficulty focusing, thinking and communicating are common descriptors of the fog. For me it is one of the most debilitating symptoms and I want to use this post to explain to non-sufferers what it is like to have a foggy brain!

Brain fog stops us from being able to concentrate on anything for very long at all – to illustrate this I’m am going to log the times of the day when my brain is clear enough to write this post.

27/4/14 12:11-12:40

I have postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS). Brain fog in POTS is caused by a lack of blood flow to the brain. When a person with POTS stands or is upright, blood pools in the lower…

View original post 618 more words

Leave a Reply

